Did everyone have a good Memorial weekend? I know I did! It was really good to have that extra day added in the weekend even though it was much harder to get up the next day to go to work. But hey, we only have 4 more days to go until another weekend comes.

By the way, did I mention that I am interning at the Career Development Center at UIS? I’ll be a communications and training assistant over the course of 10 weeks, and am getting a feel of what a real life career will be like working 7-8 hours a day. As I am no longer getting up at 10 AM or even later to get ready for class every day, each day feels much longer and I can get more things done! One thing for sure is that I can stay awake even after my lunch break thanks to friendly staff and my supervisor. Yes, I fortunately have a nice boss unlike many of us who don’t; and I’m grateful for that.

Last week, I found out that all the career services users will soon start using an application called Optimal Resume through CareerConnect, our information hub for career services and the latest job postings. So on behalf of all the future users, I decided to give Optimal Resume a try and share with you how I will be coping with this new friend. Look out for more updates!

